2015 Juries

Anand Patwardhan

Documentary Film Maker

Anand Patwardhan is an Indian documentary filmmaker known for his socio-political, human rights oriented films. Several of his films cover the rise of religious fundamentalism, sectarianism and casteism in India while others explore growing nuclear nationalism and unsustainable development.

His notable films include Bombay: Our City (Hamara Shahar) (1985), In Memory of Friends (1990), In the Name of God (Ram ke Nam) (1992), Father, Son, and Holy War (1995), A Narmada Diary (1995), War and Peace (2002) and Jai Bhim Comrade (2011) which have won national and international awards.

To know more about his work you may visit http://patwardhan.com

Sumitra Bhave

Film Maker

Sumitra Bhave (along with Sunil Sukthankar) has, 40 short films, five telefilms and two television serials to her credit.  Her films have received several national-level awards including Arvindan Puraskaram, more than 45 state awards and several state-level awards. Her films “Doghi”, “Dahavi F” and “Nital” have won Maharashtra State Best Film/ Best Direction awards.

Her films have been screened in many film festivals in India, France, Italy, UK, USA, Norway, Canada, Japan, Austria, Australia, and Holland and so on. Ms Bhave has worked as Jury on various national and international festival committees including the National Award Committee of India.

Gaganvihari Borate

Film Maker

He directed his first marathi feature film ‘Suryodaya’ starring Nana Patekar, Deepti Naval, Neelu Phule, Shriram Lagoo & Mohan Agashe. The film not only won critical acclaim in national and international media but also went on to win the state award and was specially screened in the ‘Indian panorama’, where it was appreciated by the great Indian director Satyajit Ray in 1990 at Kolkata.

His Hindi feature film directorial debut began with the film ‘Lal Salaam’ starring Nandita Das , Sharad Kapoor, Sayaji Shinde, Rajpal Yadav, Vijay Raj & Rakhee Sawant.

Share This